The Royal Television Society, Northern Ireland (RTS NI) is delighted to announce the nominees for this year’s Programme Awards, sponsored by Ka-Boom which will take place in The Mac, Belfast on Thursday 15th November, 2018.


Jannine Waddell, MBE, Chair, RTS NI Awards Committee said: 

“The RTS NI Programme Awards are an important showcase of the extraordinary talent evident across Northern Ireland’s creative industries. We seek to recognise programmes and people who have made a positive contribution to the sector in terms of originality and quality.

“The standard gets higher each year and in this our fourth year the judges had a challenging task shortlisting the finalists, given the high quality of drama, entertainment, animation and documentaries now being made in this region as well as comedy, news, current affairs, music and interactive content. We look forward to celebrating the very best creative talent in our screen industry at the Awards next month.”

The RTS NI Programme Awards 2018, sponsored by Ka-Boom are delivered in partnership with BBC Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland Screen, Channel 4, and UTV. The Awards Ceremony will be held in The MAC, Belfast on Thursday 15th November, hosted by Coleraine born actress Bronagh Waugh.

The RTS NI Programme Awards 2018 Finalists are:

Children’s and / or Animation - sponsored by Millar McCall Wylie


Entertainment - sponsored by NEP Ireland


Interactive - sponsored by Flint Studios


Features and / or Factual Entertainment - sponsored by Mac-Sys


Drama - sponsored by Yellowmoon


Original Music Score G&H Film and Television Services


Current Affairs - sponsored by Carson McDowell LLP


 News Coverage - sponsored by Queens University Belfast


Specialist Factual - sponsored by Flame Distribution Ltd


Documentary - sponsored by Performance Film and Media Insurance


Scripted Comedy – sponsored by City Air Express


The Brian Waddell Award for Outstanding Contribution - sponsored by Ka-Boom 

Tickets for the Awards are available online priced at £25 each from



For further information contact Orla McGreevy on [email protected] or call

+44 (0) 7879 666427.




Jannine Waddell, MBE, Chair of RTS NI Awards Committee is pictured with Richard Williams, Chief Executive, Northern Ireland Screen to announce this year’s RTS NI Awards finalists.

RT @DavidGillick: If you are in the hunt for some local #moroccan clobber than check out #CelebrityGlobetrotters tomorrow night @rteone 8.3…
RT @TeleTVRadio: The Chronicles of Mourne, review: a joyful armchair escape to Mourne’s stunning vistas ★★★★☆
RT @PatriciaWeller2: Forget #brexit and immerse yourself in the #magicalmournes, filmed over four seasons and narrated by #ColinMorgan. Bec…
TONIGHT at 7pm @BBCTwo ⛰🌅 #magicalmournes #TheChroniclesofMourne
Excited to announce that our series The Chronicles of Mourne will air on @BBCTwo from Monday 18th March at 7:00pm…